Where’d that pepper come from?

This is another long overdue post. A few weeks ago, I got pepper from the store.

20130120-210856.jpg

I was excited that the QR code might lead me to information about the source of the pepper. Fortunately I have a QR reader on my iPhone. So I scanned the code, which not surprisingly took me to a website. The site had a lot of great information about sustainable practices as well as the fair trade policies this company followed. Unfortunately,it didn’t tell where the pepper came from or offer more specific information.

So, I was bummed. But I did think this could be a great use for this technology. Most produce has some kind of tag on it. It would be cool if QR codes were used to connect to a website that would track the source of the produce. It seems like it would be possible to add a calculator that allowed people to enter their zipcode and calculator the carbon footprint to get each piece of produce to our grocer.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Where’d that pepper come from?

  1. It would be nice to track and see where it’s been before getting on your table!!

  2. Pingback: One Degree – for me it’s two, but that’s pretty good | How my dinner got on my plate

Leave a comment